6/31

My mom likes to tell me that I’m very good at doing nothing. She doesn’t ever really say if this is a good or a bad thing, but over the years I have decided to take it as a compliment. By being good at doing nothing, I have made sure that I never get bored.

Today, I have nothing to do. But I just worked out, I have to write my blog post, I’m thinking that I’ll maybe paint some rocks (I’ll describe this in a later post, probably), I would love to work on my application, I am at a very good part in Snow Falling on Cedars and, because I just drove for 16 hours and only slept for about 5, a nap sounds quite lovely.

Over the summer, my mom would come home at 3 and ask what I had done all day. Often, I would just shrug and respond with, “I puttered around,” or “made some cookies!” or “talked for a while with Christina. She says hello.”  And she would shake her head, amazed at how content I was with doing “nothing.”

My major (art and design), although still very demanding, offers a lot more “nothing” time than other majors here at Michigan. The workload is intense, but I find myself doing my best work when I go to the studio and work for 6 hours straight on a Sunday as oppose to spreading out my time- an hour on Tuesday, two more on Friday, etc. So, when I’m not at the studio and find myself with “nothing” to do, I am able to pull out my notebook and write down some thoughts, or finish another couple chapters in whatever book I’m reading, or practice some handstands against my bedroom door (much to my roommates’ dismay).

Sometimes, I think we all need to find the time to relax and just do “nothing.”

2 thoughts on “6/31

  1. Puttering is how I spend most of my time. It’s amazing how little one can accomplish when puttering. You have lots of options at your fingertips. The key is to enjoy whatever it is you decide to do.

Leave a Reply

