2/31

Hooray for day two and hooray for a little more time to write a blog post! Yesterday’s was nice and short, so today I’ll do a little bit more of an introduction.

I’m Larkin. I’m a sophomore at the University of Michigan (class of 2018) and, as of right now, am on track to complete a BFA in art and design. I will HOPEFULLY (fingers crossed) be minoring in writing through the Sweetland Program- it has a very low acceptance rate so I’m keeping my hopes low as well.

College has been treating my very nicely. I’m in a sorority- something I wasn’t sure that I would love- and have found it to be quite the opposite of all the negative stereotypes. I do not feel as though I am in a 60 girl clique, but instead that I have met some amazing people and have happily maintained close friends outside of ADPi as well. The art school has continued to succeed in broadening my horizons and forcing me to try new things, stretching my very small comfort zone. I have been writing (almost) every day in various beautiful, unlined notebooks (lines are restraining and scary) and have discovered things about myself that I would have never uncovered without the power of the written word, as cheesy as that may sound.

As for “extracurriculars,” I do yoga about three times a week and am currently enraptured in the words of Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche in her novel, Americanah, a book that I would recommend to anyone. It has opened my eyes to how we view race in this day and age.

Currently, I am staying in a house in Destin, Florida with SEVENTEEN of my sorority sisters and we are having the time of our lives. Our days have been filled lounging by the pool, hanging at the white-sand beach just a block from our house, and plenty of new-found friends. Our nights have consisted of a semi-sketchy bowling alley and a very interesting karaoke bar- tonight is still TBD.

I have attached some pictures of today- messing around on the beach with some yoga!

Alright. I believe that this is a slightly more sufficient introduction. Until tomorrow, everyone!

 

6 thoughts on “2/31

  1. WOW! Fabulous yoga pics!
    As the mother of a college student, I am so very happy that you’re finding your joy. Well done, my dear. That’s EXACTLY how college should be!
    Thanks for sharing it here with the Slice!

  2. I’m glad you are still enjoying school. Lucky you on spring break in Florida. Those yoga poses on the beach are amazing. I have never been flexible, so I am extremely jealous.
    PS I have head Mali do the proofreading piece, totally loved it.

  3. So very lovely to know that you are back writing with us in March, Larkin. And so wonderful to know that U.Mich. has been working out on so many important levels – that makes me very happy indeed. As for your beach delights, they look like ballet on the sands. Just lovely silhouettes. And I am glad to know that you are having the time of life right now…that is as it should be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

