Unhealthily Dependent vs. Healthily Social

This post is going to be a bit of a rant. I apologize for that in advance, but I just need to get out a couple feelings.

First, a couple things about me. I am not the type of person who likes confrontation. In fact, I hate confrontation. I like people to like me. And usually, confrontation does not lead to people being your #1 fans. HOWEVER, I do find that confrontation is a LOT more useful than talking about someone behind their back. If something is bothering me enough about a girl that I feel the need to tell another person about it in a mean way, chances are a confrontation is necessary. They aren’t fun, but sometimes they’re necessary. Finally, I don’t really like being alone. I like having personal alone time in my room just listening to music or doing art, but when I venture to the dining hall I like a buddy. I’ve never really thought of this as a huge problem. Sure, sometimes I need to be more upfront with people and be more comfortable with standing up for myself, but do I think that the fact that I would prefer to go to the gym with a partner is a large issue that I need to fix? No. I’m a social person. I like people.

Yesterday after going to the gym with a couple of friends, I was informed that one of them had texted another saying “Honestly, we’re nineteen years old. Larkin needs to learn to be a little more independent.” I was shocked. This girl was one of my good friends and, yet, here she was complaining behind my back about how dependent on other people I am.

In a situation like this, deciding what to do is a little bit tricky. I can’t really go up to her and say something, because the reason I know she was complaining about my dependence was via another girl. Currently, I’m just leaning towards ignoring it. I already know of her as a person who talks a lot about people behind their backs, it’s just always a shock to learn that those type of people also talk about you. There are only 11 more days left until I go home and I’d prefer to keep them drama free.

Until next Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Unhealthily Dependent vs. Healthily Social

  1. Letting it roll off your back is the way to go. A confrontation like this will get you nowhere (except giving yourself more aggravation than what it’s worth). That said, you know where you stand with this person. Perhaps you’ll see less of her next year.

    11 more days and your freshman year will be history. Wow! Way to go, Larkin!

Leave a Reply

