29 of 31

This weekend I was visited by two of my favorite people. My mom and LC, my grandmother. They were only here for two days– got here Saturday morning and I just bid them farewell. But boy, did we manage to do a lot.

We shopped. Almost until we dropped. Mom kept saying “this weekend is all about you!” so we went to ALL of my favorite stores. It was fantastic.

We spent an hour criss cross applesauce on the floor of Barnes and Nobles flipping through picture books and giggling at Mo Willems’ Knuffle Bunny series.

We went out to dinner with Mackenzie and Christina, my future roommates, and both of their moms and stayed there, after having already payed the bill, talking for another hour and a half. When we decided to go it was already 10:30 and we had gotten there at 7:00. Time flies when you’re telling each other embarrassing childhood stories.

I lay in bed and pretended not to know either of them as LC and Mom dealt with the hotel room key that didn’t work and the thermostat that wouldn’t seem to get above 61 degrees. We ended up getting extra blankets and all of our Hilton points back. Mom is really good at communicating her displeasure. There’s something about the way she puts things that makes you really not interested in arguing.

We went to the MDen and got a Michigan sweatshirt for Julia and a new shirt for my dad, since Mom put his old one through the wash with one of her lipsticks.

We said goodbye and are all counting down the days to being reunited again April 30th!

3 thoughts on “29 of 31

  1. Sounds like a wonderful time, Larkin. So many of your stories about the weekend made me smile, especially the one about the way your mom can shut down argument. I can so see that – she would be a formidable opponent in any argument. How amazing that April will end with your freshman year closing! What a year! Enjoy April in Ann Arbor.

  2. Whirlwind weekend for sure! What a treat to have your mom and grandmother there. I’m sure they loved seeing your favorite places and now they have a visual of places you talk about. I can’t believe you don’t have any finals in May. Way to go! I’ll miss your bits of life when this month is over.

Leave a Reply

