24 of 31

I would like to start off by saying that my roommate is a lovely person. We are not friends, but we do like each other and respect each other’s habits to the best of our abilities. I would also like to start off by saying that rooming with someone is hard, even if you think that they’re a lovely person. Especially freshman year. Especially when you don’t share their study habits or sleeping habits or, to be quite frank, any of their habits.

My roommate was away this weekend. I kept the room at–about–60 degrees (she likes to keep it at around 90) and went to bed every night–except Friday, of course–at around 10:30 (she’s up until around 1 every night). It’s been a little tough having her back with the window constantly closed and the smell of her foreign food filling the small space we share. I don’t mean to sound like a bad person, it’s just that I really loved having a single for four days.

Tuesdays are my good days. I get to sleep in until 8:30, roll out of bed, get dressed and walk down to my class, which is from 9:10 until 12:30, and then I am done. Tuesdays are also Maria’s (my roommate’s) good days. She does not have class until 12 and she’s back in the room again by about 3. So imagine my surprise when an alarm went off at 7:00 am. Maria is a very deep sleeper. The alarm continued. And continued. And finally she awoke and turned it off at around 7:03. I feel straight back asleep. Then, imagine my astonishment when an alarm went off again at 7:15! Again, I lay in my bed gritting my teeth until Maria finally muttered something and turned it off. And so it went. Every 15 minutes an alarm would go off all the way up until I rolled out of bed at 8:30. Oh, the power of a snooze button. Oh, how I would love to have a word with the person who invented this SNOOZE BUTTON. Bah humbug.

Again, Maria’s a great person.

P.S. She wore sneakers without socks today and the room smells like feet.

P.P.S. Don’t worry she has no idea that this blog exists.

P.P.S. Maybe I should go back to yoga…

Until tomorrow, everyone!

5 thoughts on “24 of 31

  1. Sharing a space is difficult in the best of circumstances. It is twice as hard when you don’t share the same body rhythms and habits. Remember, summer is almost here. Next year will you be able to live in the sorority house or room with a friend you’ve made this year?

  2. Yes, this definitely calls for more yoga. Freshman year roommates are always a tough thing…but you will have years and years of stories based on your experienced this one year.

Leave a Reply

