22 of 31

Today my friend, Mackenzie, and I decided that it would be a smart idea to check our bank accounts and map out spending for the rest of the year. Before I could calculate how much I would be able to spend a week with a solid chunk leftover for summer spending, Kenz and I had to count the number of weeks left of school. Six. I am going to be home for the summer in six weeks. Technically, I only have FOUR weeks left of school, as classes get out on the 17th of April. However, when you include the two weeks I have to stay for finals, it comes out to be six weeks left in Ann Arbor.

I know this sounds super cliche, but my time here has really flown by. Although the first few weeks here at Michigan feel like forever ago, I can’t believe that my freshman year is over in six weeks. And trust me when I say that those six weeks are going to FLY by because I really, really don’t want them to. (Finals have never been my cup of tea.)

The other day I was looking back at my posts during last year’s slice of life challenge. One of my goals for school was to not be the girl with FOMO (fear of missing out). As I put it on March 30, 2014, “Next year, I don’t want to be the type of person that has FOMO. I read about FOMO in a kid’s book once, and have been a little bit obsessed with it ever since. FOMO is an acronym for Fear of Missing Out. Before this year, and before I began to voluntarily think about it and work to change my ways, I had a very bad case of FOMO. I wanted to be in ten different places at once all the time. I couldn’t balance my friends. I wanted to be everywhere doing everything and I struggled to be happy with the current moment. I have been working hard to change this. Instead of going over to someone’s house and thinking about the party I could be at or the work I could be doing or the family dinner I could be having, I have been working hard to instead just relax and enjoy that moment. FOMO is overrated. The key to happiness is to be content and satisfied with where you are and who you’re with.” Looking back at this, I know that I’ve grown as a person. I have become more content. More content with where I am, who I am and who I’m with.

Being away from my family for so long has been hard, but also really good for me in a lot of ways. Not having my three best friends, Julia, Clare and my mom, living a bedroom away has forced me to work harder to find people that I trust and respect as much as them. My family has given me pretty high standards and it’s been my job this year to find people who meet them. I think I’ve done a pretty good job.

Until tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “22 of 31

  1. I loved reading your reflection about your freshman year of college. Not only will your freshman year go quickly but all the years to follow will as well. Cherish this time! Also, continue to work on your goal of being present…that mindset will serve you well throughout life!

  2. What a year! Hard to believe that this first year is almost over. It will be great to be back home, but I bet you will miss this life too. It is great to be happy where you are and happy with the ones around you.

  3. I think it’s amazing that you’ve figured this out during your freshman year of college! It took me until I was about 38 to discover that you need to really, “Live in the moment,” as much as possible. Congratulations on being almost finished! Enjoy the ride. Before you know it, you’ll be 40 (like me) and wondering where the past 20 years went!

  4. When your family sets a high standard, you know that you are lucky. That is a gift, Larkin
    , one that you will always bless your stars for. It will always point you where you need to be, where you need to go.

  5. Great reflection. I do remember that fear! But honestly, living the life you want to live and not the life others are chasing is really the key to it all! Connecticut is a place of high standards! Your parents must love you well!

  6. Freshman year really does fly by!!! I’m glad you’re reflecting back and seeing how you’ve changed. I’m sure you’ve come a long way! This has made me so nostalgic for college! Good luck on your finals!

Leave a Reply

