16 of 31

As I’m sitting here in the Alpha Delta Pi house, waiting for a meeting about New Member Recruitment to begin, it has come to my attention that it might be time to write a post about being in a sorority.

There are a lot of stereotypes and presumptions that come with being part of a sorority. The southern sororities are– mostly– all extremely tan, extremely blonde, preppy girls who love country music. This has become the overall stereotype for sororities everywhere. At Michigan, this couldn’t be much more inaccurate. The great thing about sororities here is that it isn’t a “particular” type of girl who rushes because the people who go here are from all over. You have the extreme fashionistas from Southern California and New York, the hippie, vegetarians from Northern California, the tan, blonde girls from the South and the preppy, put-together girls from the Northeast. In my sorority, I’m friends with people from all over. My roommates from next year are from Michigan and California, so together the three of us cover the Northeast, the Midwest and the West Coast. Pretty cool.

The University of Michigan is a big school. It’s up to you to make it feel smaller. Being in the art school helps with that. Each grade only has about 200 students and each class is only about 18. Being in a sorority also helps. I made 64 new friends in one of the first weeks of September after joining Alpha Delta Pi. I have an awesome big who has helped show me the social and academic ropes– from where the best places are to study to where the best places are to go out at night, she seems to be the expert on everything. I have made amazing friends and there is always someone who will be up to doing what I want to do. Do I want to go to the library? I put a message in the groupme (a texting app) and immediately have multiple responses. Am I hungry? Want to watch a movie? Looking to shop? Same thing. I realize it sounds cliche, but the definition of a sister should be someone who has your back and who loves you unconditionally. I have 64 new sisters.

I get it when people say they hate greek life. Really, I do. I understand that from an outsider’s perspective it looks like a group of “fake” girls who are just paying monthly dues to go to great parties. This is the reason why I debated if I was even going to rush in the first place. I could not be happier that I did because it is so much more than that. It is a close-knit, motivated, smart group of girls who I know will always be there for me throughout my college years and beyond. I am proud to be a sister of Michigan’s Alpha Delta Pi.

4 thoughts on “16 of 31

  1. My daughter joined a sorority when she went to school and it was the best decision she made! Knowing she always had a sister looking after her or keeping her company made me feel much more relaxed. I knew she was safe and she was so happy! Those friends are her closest friends now. She’s graduating this year but she has made friends that will last a lifetime.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful sorority, Larkin – after all, would could be better than: “a close-knit, motivated, smart group of girls who I know will always be there for me throughout my college years and beyond”? All of us need a special community like this.

Leave a Reply

