11 of 31

I have quite a bit of homework to do so today’s post will be on the shorter side. Besides, my past two were hefty enough to carry the weight.

My mom is a big believer (as we all are) in random acts of kindness. I witnessed a good one today.

The University of Michigan’s doors to the dorms are all locked to the public– you need your card to access them. Therefore, it’s always really nice to hold the door open for students behind you to save them the hassle of digging through their pockets. Today, I walked back from the gym with two boys walking ahead of me, one ahead of the other. The first boy got to the door and opened it, holding it for the guy behind him. The second boy walked through the door, not even saying thank you, and didn’t seem to even consider stopping and holding it open for me. I frowned. Didn’t he know anything about passing on the kindness? Had he never read One Smile? (Which, by the way, is an adorable picture book. If you haven’t read it, I would highly recommend.) The first boy didn’t say anything, but let him pass by and patiently waited, holding the door open for me as well. What? I was shocked. How kind. I gave him an extra big smile and “thank you” as I walked through his open door, hopefully allowing enough appreciation as is appropriate for two people.

Kindness and chivalry are always out there. You just need to find the right people.

8 thoughts on “11 of 31

    • Amen! Amen! Kindness and chivalry are surely alive and well, but yes, sometimes you do have to look for them. I love this slice! Thanks so much for sharing!

  1. Kindness matters so much. If we could all just live a little more in the moment, our world would be such a better place. My dad says that once you are older you know better but sometimes I wonder. When others do not acknowledge extensions of kindness did they grow up in an environment where the foundation of love and kindness towards others was absent? We have to lead by example which is what you did today. You know only covered for the boy who didn’t acknowledge the gesture but you stopped to share with us. Let us be more present and kind.

  2. Your mom told me about One Smile, which I bought immediately. It’s such a wonderful book!

    Love that you smiled and said thank you in a grand way. Kindness is catchy… you never know. The guy may have gotten the message!

Leave a Reply

