9 of 31

I wasn’t going to admit this to any of you because it’s extremely embarrassing, but now I find myself wanting to write a blog post about technology and this correlates perfectly. So my embarrassing situation: I left my cell phone in California. What? How!? These are two questions you may be asking yourself. After all, I am a teenager, and my iPhone is nothing less than a fifth limb. How on earth could I have left it 2,000 miles away and still be living?

Well, to answer the first question I shall give you all some excuses. We left Mackenzie’s house at 4:00 am in order to get to the airport on time for our 7:00 am flight. As you may imagine, brains often are not functioning properly at 4 in the morning. My other excuse for this mishap is that my new phone case (because we must keep our limbs well-dressed) is navy blue and white. Mackenzie’s couch is navy blue and white. Therefore, my phone effectively hid from me. Clearly, I was not the only one who wished to stay in California and never leave. Well, unfortunately for my dear phone, no one (not even my 5th limb) can stay in California forever and my iPhone is currently on its way back to Michigan after being overnighted this morning.

Living two days without a phone has been interesting, to say the least. As soon as I got off the plane, I went to check my phone for any dire texts I may have missed in the 3 hours I spent up in the air, only to recall that it was not there. Later that afternoon, I got a beautiful cup of coffee and reached to grab my phone to take a picture of it to upload to snapchat. My phone, however, had not reappeared in my pocket like Harry Potter’s wand to my great disappointment and my coffee went undocumented. I went to set my alarm last night around 8 pm, only to find that I did not have an alarm. My phone is my alarm. Luckily, I discovered this problem early and immediately scampered to Mackenzie’s room to beg and barter for her iPad for the night. Unluckily, her iPad was set to the lowest volume and when its alarm went off at 7:25, I did not hear it. I arrived at my 8:30 class at 8:45.

It has been interesting to see how dependent I have become on technology. I can barely turn a corner without needing to check the time or take a picture or text my friend about a sudden idea that has popped into my head. Although I have learned a lot and am making a pact to myself right now to be better at taking in the world around me (especially because the temperatures have finally begun to make an incline here in Ann Arbor–omg yay) I must say that I cannot wait to have my 5th limb back in my possession.

Until tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “9 of 31

  1. You should have heard me gasp as I read your third line. Yes, life is tough without all limbs attached, but you can do it. Thank goodness for overnight mail delivery. I guess I won’t tell you the story of my package that went to Des Moines, then Santa Ana, then northern California, then back to Santa Ana where it was supposed to be in the first place. 🙂

  2. To look at the bright side, you know where it is, it’s going to arrive back on your doorstep soon, and finally, it’s not broken. I always swore I wouldn’t become so attached to my phone, or any device, that I couldn’t live without it. Well, I was wrong. I would be lost without my phone! Good luck to you as you wait!

Leave a Reply

