4 of 31

I can’t believe my break is more than halfway over. Don’t tell my mom, but I’ve been so busy I haven’t even done my homework…

Today was the second and last day of Christina, Mackenzie and I venturing around San Fransisco. Mackenzie told us one of our first days that Californians are nice, but aren’t exactly the friendliest people. As in, “pointless” conversations are not a thing. We came to the conclusion after today’s adventure that we are very, very approachable people because we were approached multiple times and, believe it or not, we are in California. To get the full experience, we decided to not take the car in this morning, but instead the subway, which is called the Bart (Bay Area Rapid Transit). After 2 stops of our total 7, a man with a cane got on and, since I was closest, I quickly got up and offered him my seat. The man who I stood up next to was extremely impressed with my noble act, and by our 5th of 7 total stops, he knew where I went to school, where I was from and I could tell you all about his two kids. And Mackenzie said Californians aren’t friendly. Ha.

The damage today, you will all be surprised to hear, was almost nonexistent. I found that the Prada’s and Chanel’s and Neiman Marcus’ that we encountered today in Union Square were slightly out of the zone of my handy-dandy debit card. The money that was dropped today was solely on food. Instead of spending money, Mackenzie, Christina and I walked through store after store playing the “when I’m a millionaire, I will buy…” game. Starting, of course, at Tiffany’s. Almost immediately after I stopped to examine a particularly beautiful silver ring, I was approached by a woman about my mother’s age. She didn’t even ask what I was looking for, which I was actually very impressed by, but told me that I reminded her of her daughter who is a freshman at University of Delaware. We talked about the drastic weather difference, and majors that were smart these days, and the struggle of coming back to CA as white as a ghost after months in the cold until Christina and Mackenzie were ready to go. In my opinion, she was also very friendly.

Our waitress who delivered our delicious milkshakes, pictured below, also found the need to enlighten us on how much she loved when her old friends from college came to visit, as she was able to play “tour guide” for the day. We were later stopped in the middle of the street and filmed as we awkwardly answered questions about the new Nike workout bracelet.

Neiman Marcus was another necessary destination for our “when I’m a millionaire, I will buy…” game. We traveled from floor to floor on the perfectly clean escalators and spent a solid 5 minutes admiring the bathroom on the 3rd floor until we came to a stop by the Christian Louboutin heels. As the three of us picked our favorites, a salesman about my grandfather’s age came up to us, smelling very strongly of expensive cologne, clad in a suit paired with a striped dress shirt and polka-dotted tie.

“I see you admiring the Louboutin’s,” he began the conversation.

It led to us comparing majors, and him commenting on my art major that, “money comes and goes, but art is forever,” which, we agreed after, is a novel idea but money is nice too. He then somehow got on a segway that led to him telling us that the “marijuana is one product that has just gotten better with time.” I believe that we spent a solid 15 minutes listening to his antics before Mackenzie made something up about meeting a friend for lunch. He was crazy, maybe, but definitely friendly.

After two crazy days in the city, I’m pretty excited to be lying on a beach tomorrow. This also means (hopefully) that I’ll be able to post earlier in the day… of course with plenty of pictures.

Until then!

My fantastic coffee milkshake, topped with homemade chocolate whipped cream

My fantastic coffee milkshake, topped with homemade chocolate whipped cream

Mackenzie and Christina deciding what to order for lunch at our Little Italy restaurant

Mackenzie and Christina deciding what to order for lunch at our Little Italy restaurant

One of the famous heart sculptures. This one is found in Union Square.

One of the famous heart sculptures. This one is found in Union Square.

3 thoughts on “4 of 31

  1. Collecting people and their story is what you did today. What a fun game to play in the store! Did you get to try on the shoes? Have a great beach day (hope the sun is out).

Leave a Reply

