Day 26

Tonight was a crazy night. And that is a very large understatement. I did more scheming and plotting and plot-twisting tonight than I have done in the past six months combined. 

Prom.

Honestly, I don’t think that anyone’s prom situations could be any crazier than mine and my friend Katie’s were tonight. But hey, we both ended up getting asked and we both ended up getting asked by very nice young men. So it was a good night. 

To give you a basic gist of what went down between 5pm and about 30 minutes ago, I will try to fit it all into a concise little paragraph. Both Katie and I were trying to avoid getting asked by boys who we absolutely did NOT want to go with. Both of these boys were TOGETHER and trying all night to figure out our whereabouts and stalk us down with roses and cakes. So Katie and I had to take matters into our own hands. I had heard of a few different people who had been thinking about asking me, so I had Katie call up my friend Max (a potential prom person) and set up a prom asking. We drove over to the grocery store where he was working and he asked me to prom with a cake he had written on saying “Larkin, Prom?” One down, one to go. 

Okay maybe two paragraphs.

Katie, who was avoiding boy #2, also had a few potential prom askers. So, being the good friend that I am, I called up one of them, my friend Jack, and told him that if he didn’t ask Katie tonight then she unfortunately was going to be snatched up by someone else. Jack acted quickly. Katie and I secretly went to the gym to work out (one of our many hiding places throughout the course of the night and the reason for our beautiful apparel) and only told a select group of people of our whereabouts. Of course, Jack was one of the select few and sat outside in his car until we came out. He asked Katie with a poster that said “Will you be my winning ticket?” and a lottery ticket. It was quite adorable.

Of course, a prom story would not be complete without photos so here are some nice little visuals for you all.

ImageImageImage

4 thoughts on “Day 26

  1. Glad it worked out for you. You did a great job putting a long evening into a short story. Maybe you’d like to try other genres on the same topic. Could you write about it in a poem? a letter to a potential date?

  2. My daughter is in the midst of prom planning. She spent part of tonight making a sign with a cute poem to help a friend ask another friend. It’s such a fun time, I’m glad your prom plans are working out for you.

  3. Oh my, the hoops these poor boys must jump through to get a prom date. I’m glad it worked out for you in the end. Now the hard work of picking the perfect dress must begin (or have you already found it?).

Leave a Reply

