Day 24

It seems as though every day I come up with a new goal for myself. Tomorrow I am going to say hello to that person in the hallway and I am going to be more outgoing and I am going to complete all of my history homework for the next three days tonight so I don’t have to do it then. Tomorrow I am going to start working out for fifteen or more minutes every day, regardless of whether or not I have dance, just because it makes me feel better. In ten or so years I am going to be the best mom ever and I am going to be kind and giving and forgiving and I am always going to have an open ear and an open heart.

It bothers me that the majority of my goals begin with “tomorrow” or “ten years” or “when I get around to it.” I am going to make a new goal for myself. This goal is going to be to write things down. I have whiteboards all over my room that I never use and a beautiful planner that, for the most part, is completely blank, and tons of fantastic markers and sharpies and fine-tip pens to write down all of the things I want to accomplish and all of the things I already have accomplished because I think it is a problem that many of us only think about what we WANT to get done and forget to give ourselves a pat on the back for how far we’ve already come.

I believe that this is all for today, just some thoughts. If you have any other tips that you would recommend for someone trying to achieve goals that they have already set, please fill me in as I imagine you all are much older and wiser than I currently am! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 24

  1. Well, being older (the wiser part I leave to others to remark upon) I can say that goals always begin with our tomorrows – but we often miss noticing the power of what we’re accomplishing today until we reflect back upon years past and say to ourselves, “I achieved his or that then, how marvelous!” I think you alluded at this in your post, Larkin, which all goes to prove that you are already wiser than you give yourself credit for! 🙂

  2. How about creating a “vision board” or “dream board”? They are all over the place online, and I think there is even an app for it. Here is a link to Oprah’s information on making one–https://www.oprah.com/spirit/How-to-Make-a-Vision-Board-Find-Your-Life-Ambition-Martha-Beck

Leave a Reply

