Day 22

I woke up at 8 this morning and immediately went to go check and see if I’d gotten into Middlebury–decisions were supposed to come out today at 8am. It was a no. Surprisingly, it didn’t hurt quite as bad as my first ever rejection had. As they say, the first cut is the deepest. With Middlebury as my 2nd rejection, I just didn’t care quite as much; I already have Michigan and at this point the main reason I want to get into the rest of the schools I applied to is just so I can say that I did. Crazy, I know, but true. No one likes to be rejected, even if they already have a terrific offer. It just makes the rejection much more bearable.

Today was one of those days where I feel as though I have so much that I could blog about (meaning a lot happened today) but I don’t think that any of what happened would make a terrifically interesting or humorous story. My 3 boy cousins from Florida (11 year old twins and an 8 year old) visited for a couple hours today on their way to the airport after visiting their old friends in Vermont. Usually, when they stop in something crazy and exciting happens, so I thought my blog post for the day had basically been already written, but today they were slightly mellow and actually well-behaved. This provided me with a lovely time bonding with the three of them but unfortunately did not provide me with any fantastic stories. 

As I really don’t have anything else to say, until tomorrow, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Day 22

  1. Sometimes it is hard to decide what will make a good slice. I think the mundane can turn out interesting to others because it’s usually what they experienced too.

  2. I don’t think you are the least bit crazy for being disappointed by this rejection. It’s a matter of pride. We all want to feel wanted, no matter what the circumstances are. Nobody wants to feel unwanted. The important thing is to realize what you do have. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve tried to embrace the philosophy that everything happens for a reason. You got into Michigan first so you wouldn’t have the anxiety waiting to find out if you got into any other schools. And while you may not know it now, you got into Michigan for a reason. There are wonderful things waiting for you there. Have a great time! College is an amazing experience.

Leave a Reply

