Day 17

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone!

I am writing this post from a seat in the Detroit airport, as this was my mom’s and my last day in Ann Arbor. We had a lovely weekend– some of the highlights included meeting Jaana (of jaanaswritingblog.blogspot.com), quite a bit of shopping during our spare time, and really, really good food. 

My entire life I have struggled with choices. Not as much as my younger sister, Julia, who couldn’t ever make up her mind between which Barbie to buy, but I don’t like to choose between two things that I like. It’s scary. Up until now, I have never been put into the situation where I’ve had to choose, so therefore I haven’t. I dance and I act and I sing and I draw and paint and I golf and I write and I’m a good student and somehow, until now, I’ve been able to do all those things without really having to make a choice between any of them. I guess I’m just super lucky. Sure, every now and then I will have to decide if I would rather stay home and draw or leave the comfort of my bed and play a round of golf, but no one has ever sat me down and had the “choice” conversation with me, saying, “Larkin! You have to decide right now what you want to do with your life!”

But next year I’m going to college.

At college, sure, I’ll be able to double major or maybe major in something and minor in another, and in my free time I can do whatever I’m not majoring or minoring in, but at college I am going to have to choose. And this weekend has helped me with that. I’m not sure if I said this before, but I got into the Penny Stamps Art and Design school at University of Michigan (I know I said I got into U of M but just not which school…). My choice that I have to make is whether or not I want to stay in Art and Design school or transfer to the Literature, Science and the Arts school (which is very easy to do once you’re accepted into the actual University, which I am). After this weekend, I think I have made my choice. I am going to stay in Penny. I have never tried out being a serious artist before; instead it has always been a side hobby, an important passion. College is the time to make choices and I’m not sure that I can make a confident choice before I have tried out the path of being a “real” artist.

I will let you all know how that goes.

Until tomorrow, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Day 17

  1. Bravo, Larkin! College is the time to experiment and find your way…Joseph Campbell urged us to “follow your bliss” – here’s the quote, which I have in my own journal,too:
    “Follow your bliss.
    If you do follow your bliss,
    you put yourself on a kind of track
    that has been there all the while waiting for you,
    and the life you ought to be living
    is the one you are living.”
    Keep us posted!

  2. Choices ARE scary. Yet, we would resent having them made for us. You took the road less traveled, a challenge. I admire that. Remember that you can also change your mind while at college!

  3. Being eighteen (or around there) is so young to decide what you want to do for the rest of your life. I returned to school when I was 40 to become a teacher. Those decisions that you make now, may be the right one or you may find out down the road your passion lies somewhere else. The most important thing for you to remember is to be happy! It sounds like art makes you happy – so go find that passion and enjoy!

  4. Larkin, what a pleasure it was to meet you! I think you will be happy in Ann Arbor!!! Follow your passions and see where life leads you!

  5. Study what you enjoy, then you will never work a day in your life because it all relates to your passion. Take time to explore your creative side. Sounds like this was a great trip and the bonus was meeting Jaana.

Leave a Reply

