Day 12

My walk yesterday was fantastic. My friend and I walked around the entire reservoir, and, of course, since we are teenage girls, took quite a few pictures. I’ll upload them at the end. 

On a different note, today in English class (interesting that most of my school slices take place in English class, but then again, it is my absolute favorite besides art) our valedictorian showed us his project. It was, of course, flawless, even though he chose to just write an essay. As he read it, I honestly believed every single word. At the end, my teacher said “very good, Chris,” and then thought for a second. After thinking, she said, “Chris, would you consider yourself to be a selfish or selfless person, if you don’t mind me asking.” I thought that of course Chris would say selfless, because that’s how I’ve always viewed him. He helps anyone who needs help, plays multiple team sports and gets along with everyone and is just an all around great kid. But he answered without a moment’s hesitation, “Oh, I am definitely selfish.”

I was a bit in shock. But then I started to think about what it actually meant to be selfish. It has such a negative connotation, but really all it means is that you put yourself before others and, in the end, doesn’t everyone? Except for maybe a couple very rare exceptions, of course, as there are exceptions to any rule. My entire life I’ve been thinking that a selfish person is a terrible person who only thinks about themselves, but I think it would actually do me good to be slightly more selfish and to not care quite as much about what other people think. 

And with that, here are some pictures.

ImageImageImage

 

Until tomorrow, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Day 12

  1. Such an interesting turn on the connotations of the word, Larkin. I personally believe that a degree of selfishness is a positive trait to have – taking care of one’s interests allows for independence, keeps one from being taken advantage of, and promotes a healthy sense of self esteem. As the mother of two young women, I especially believe that women need to have some of their selflessness trained out of them – our society seems to encourage women to see selflessness in their careers and relationships as positive attributes. I am all for the type of selfishness that Sheryl Sandberg extolls in her book “Lean In.”
    PS. What a happy looking doggie!

  2. These projects were to develop thinking and that is exactly what it has done for you. Yes, we are all a bit selfish to a degree. It’s when one goes overboard on selfish there are problems.
    It seems odd to see so much snow and you walking with just a sweatshirt. Loved the two days of warmth we had, but now it’s turned cool again. Wah! 😦

  3. This is a very interesting post. You’re thinking carefully and that’s always good. I’m wondering, though, if selfish isn’t what you mean? When you’re selfish you look out for number #1 at the expense of others. I don’t think that’s necessarily a good thing or what you are striving for. However, what I think you might mean here is that it’s important to think about yourself in terms of what’s important to you without worrying about what others think. This is an important stance to cultivate. Too often we aren’t true to ourselves because we are worried of rejection or being scorned by others, specially our friends. It takes a strong person to realize that approval from others isn’t going to get you through life. I’m still learning that as an adult.

Leave a Reply

