Slice of Life Day 5

Up until 2:00 my day was fantastic. I kid you not. It was one of those extremely stereotypical best high school days ever (for a nerd, at least). I didn’t have first period, so I was able to sleep in for whole 47 minutes extra than usual. Already my day was off to a stellar start. Then in math we got our quizzes back and I got an 100 which was pretty fantastic. After that I had a Spanish presentation which I felt terrific about and my teacher had somehow heard through the grape vine that I’d gotten into U of M so congratulated me afterwards which I felt pretty terrific about as well. My class after Spanish is AP United States History. If you know the high school curriculum well, you would know that APUSH is a junior class. You’re right. I am the only senior in APUSH (because of the fact that I went to Spain for half a year…different story) and usually that keeps me from talking up much. However, due to my fantastic mood I decided to share a couple of ideas. My teacher thought this was great and made sure to tell me after class that I should participate more because I had a lot to offer. Score. Finally, my last class of the day was art. I have been struggling on the piece I’m doing because something has been looking weird with the girl’s chest area and I had not yet figured out what it was. I swear to god I re-did the chicks boobs four times. My art teacher from last year came in to check in and see how I was doing. He took one look at the painting and said, “Larkin. Her boob is on her shoulder.” This comment probably does not make any sense to you guys, but trust me. It opened up a new way of looking at the world for me. Suddenly life was clear. Her boob was on her shoulder. In five minutes I had fixed the issue I’ve been struggling with for weeks and it is looking two million times better, let me tell you. When I’m done with it I’ll be sure to put it up.

You may be wondering at this point why I began this post with my day being great up until 2:00. Well, if you have made it this far you will now know. I left school super early (this seems to be a bonus to my spectacular day, but trust me just wait…it was not) to go to the dermatologist. Most kids my age go to the dermatologist to take care of their acne. Not me. No pimples here. I had to go to the dermatologist today because I had a little baby wart right on my middle finger. My mom had gotten sick of me flipping her off every time I wanted to show her my pride and joy, so she called the dermatology office and signed me up to get that sucker removed. They freezed it off. I kid you not when I say it is still throbbing. 

However, my day just continued on the decline from there. As soon as I got back from the dermatologists, my grandma and I were supposed to go pick up my brand new glasses and I was pretty darn excited about them, being the nerd that I am. I mean, how can you not be excited about glasses? They’re just so cool. So I get home, still blowing on my poor middle finger and LC and I hop in the car (yes, I am old enough to drive and no, mother does not yet trust me driving in bad areas yet which, unfortunately, is where the eyeglass place is located) and we are off to pick up my awesome new glasses. Our trip was cut short by police cars all over every exit where we needed to get off in order to get to New Britain (all right, whatever, congratulations, you now know I live somewhat near New Britain). The freaking president was at CCSU (aka Central Connecticut State University). Due to the president’s visit, which LC and I had completely forgotten about, my poor lovely glasses will have to wait until tomorrow.

We did have chicken fajitas for dinner so I really can’t complain too much about my life. Honestly, there are no problems that a chicken fajita and some really delicious guacamole can’t solve.

Until tomorrow, fellow slicers!

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 5

  1. Hope those fajitas made up for the second half of what seemed to be a promising day. Also, glad to hear that your painting is nearing anatomical accuracy. And..congrats on U of M. That is a big deal.

  2. Sorry I missed you yesterday, I must have gone to bed before you posted. I had to work today, so needed my sleep. 🙂 Glad you were able to solve the boob issue. I’ve seen the picture and it looks good, but I’ll say that on the post. Are you ready for the wart to turn black and eventually fall off? Ewww!

Leave a Reply

