Slice of Life Day 4

I have decided to embrace the fact that I am one of the only high schoolers participating in this challenge. In order to do this completely and entirely, I think that it is necessary for me to help all of you teachers and educators and big, important people a little bit on better understanding the world of teenagers. And in order for you to completely understand the world of teenagers today, there is one fundamental thing you must be aware of. That thing is called the selfie. Today I will be teaching all of you how to take the perfect selfie. You may be under the impression that selfies require little to no work/preparation. I mean, Miley Cyrus makes the selfie-taking process seem as easy as 1-2-3. You are wrong. The amount of thinking that goes into the perfect selfie is not to be believed. I am sure that Ms. Cyrus takes at least 20 selfies before she comes across the perfect one that will be tweeted for the world to see. At this point, some of you may be thinking “what on earth is this crazy girl talking about. I have never heard of this so-called selfie.” For those people, I will provide a quick explanation. A selfie is a brilliant invention that allows you to take a picture of yourself. On your iPhones, you have two options for the camera, thanks to the late Steve Jobs. The camera can be faced away, facing the rest of the world, or the camera can be right there on your face. This means that you can take as many pictures of yourself as you want! Fantastic, right?!

Without further ado, here is my selfie tutorial. 

Step 1: The first step to taking the perfect selfie is to find the perfect lighting. Some people will get super artsy and creative with their selfies and have half of their face lit and the other half dark. That being said, I believe trying to get creative with your selfie is a bit ironic and I would suggest going the simple route. Find a nice window or a lamp with a nice glow and position yourself in front of it.

Step 2: Make sure your face looks good. I know this may seem obvious, but trust me, to some people it is not. Maybe put on just a little bit of mascara or lipstick, anything to make you look and feel confident!

Step 3: Open the camera of your phone and put it on selfie mode. 

Step 4: In order to take the perfect selfie, you must also have the perfect selfie face. Some of the basics include: duck face, straight face, cute smile, huge smile, ecstatic smile with your mouth open in surprise. Just try them all out until you find the right one.

Step 5: Add a filter. A picture is not a picture without a filter. The iPhone recently came out with the ios7…well, at least semi-recently…which allows you to filter your pictures! I know, right, crazy!! I would HIGHLY recommend the filter, Instant. It gives the selfie a slightly old-timey look and really accentuates different contrasting colors that help highlight your features.

Good luck with those selfies…let me know how they go!! See you all tomorrow!

p.s. I am in a particularly good mood today because I just got into the University of Michigan!! Go Wolverines! (I realized I just used 6 exclamation points for a total of 4 sentences, but I thought they were necessary in order to convey my overflowing enthusiasm!!!!!!!!)

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 4

  1. Congrats on getting into Michigan! Is that your first choice? Thanks for the useful hints on selfie. I did not know about the filter, but then if you look at the pictures on my blog, you will see what I take pictures of, and it is not a selfie.

    • It was one of my top choices! At this point I don’t really have a first choice, but instead a collection of schools that I would be excited to go to. And thank you!!

  2. Thank you, Larkin, for the selfie instructions! I’m the mom of two teen girls (senior and soph) and they are constantly reminding me that I’m not hip. Perhaps my new selfie skills will help me. I’m glad you’re here, a youthful voice! I went looking for your blog when my oldest said, “Maybe I’ll slice!”
    Congrats on your U of M admission!!!! Keep us posted on your college decision!

    • Thank you! And yes!! tell her I say to start slicing! I thought at first that I wouldn’t have enough time, but taking 20 minutes out of your day turned out to be surprisingly easy… plus getting comments is a pretty good feeling and with slice of life it’s great because you get what you give

Leave a Reply

