Slice of Life Day 2

One of my least favorite things EVER is losing motivation. One second I will want to start a foundation and raise thousands of dollars or paint a picture or write a novel and the very next second I’ll be lying in my bed watching TV. Where does all that motivation go? Does it just die or will someday I be totally and completely filled with more motivation and ideas than I know what to do with? Ugh. I suppose the only cure for dying motivation is to do things right when I want to do them. For example, the exact moment my fingers are itching to hold a pencil and sketch my sister perched at her desk, I will do just that. No more pointless excuses such as “I will after I finish the paragraph of this essay that’s due in a week” or “I’ll just take a five minute cat nap and then I’ll be totally on that.” The cure for the disappearance of motivation, I suppose, is to live in the moment and to STOP procrastinating.

On a completely different note, I have not yet decided if I prefer writing in a notebook or on a blog. I’m interested in what you guys have to say. Just earlier today I was going through the pros and cons of both. I am not trying to sound at all full of myself, but I love my handwriting. It’s not perfect like font is on a computer, but it’s mine and I’ve worked hard at it. It’s something that’s important to me. We do not yet live in a world where all notes are taken on a computer or laptop or iPad or whatever the latest fad is. When I go to class, I still show up with a spiral notebook and pencil and it’s up to me to take notes that won’t cause me pain when I look back at them in two weeks. The other thing about writing in a notebook is that you can be in complete control. I’m not sure if this is at all normal, but I cannot stand writing with lines. If I am going to write in a notebook, the pages need to be blank and white. I need to be in control of which direction I write and how big or small I write and whether or not I’m going to doodle little pictures on the side.

HOWEVER if I only wrote in a blank white notebook, none of you would be able to see my thoughts! Without blogs and technology this community would not exist! That’s a pretty big con if you ask me. Interest in what you’re doing is almost always heightened when you find out that others have interest in what you’re doing as well. This is something I’ve learned from acting and dancing and art and basically anything. If someone tells me they loved my performance or what I did with a painting, all of a sudden I am greedy for the next compliment and put even more than my all into my next show or piece. If you say that compliments don’t motivate you, my educated guess would be that that is a total lie.

See you all tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 2

  1. I find writing on the blog has become somewhat more natural for me, Larkin – it allows me to do things with visuals and videos that (I think) enhance my writing and give it layers of depth and meaning somehow. But I also suffer from fibromyalgia, and writing has become increasingly difficult – I’ve lost the muscle strength to hold a pen for very long. That being said, I often print out things that I want to work on further, or am especially pleased with and plonk them in my notebook (which I do have!) to fiddle around with. So, that’s what I do – after all, why restrict oneself?! And, I will not lie, compliments absolutely influence and motivate me! 🙂

  2. Personally, I write in both. Even when blogging, I have my notebook beside me. As I’m reading blog posts, I write down ideas. I take it with me everywhere because I never know when I’m going to write. I say use both–the best of all worlds.

  3. I write in both. I grew up journaling in diaries since I was probably 7 or 8, but I think now I’ve grown more accustomed to writing online. RE your comments on Motivation!! I hear you. Resistance is my biggest enemy. Have you ever read The War of Art by Steven Pressfield? It’s pretty great, and focuses a lot on harnessing and implementing your creative talents- getting up off your (chair?:)) and just creating. But, you are not alone. Yes. Just pick up that pencil and do it!

  4. You always seem so full of life, I can’t imagine you losing motivation. As for notebooks, most of my writing is on the blog, but I do record a few thoughts in a small notebook.

  5. As much as I love my computer, and as much as I now do most of my composing through the keyboard, I love the pile of notebooks that I keep stacked on my desk. I’m with you, Larkin, I don’t like lines, and I must have spiral. I like to write sideways, upside down, even in circle.

    On a motivational note, aren’t you glad you have me nagging at you?!?!?

    • wow, very interesting mom. I must get my notebook fetish from you.

      p.s. I’m not sure if I have short term memory loss or something, but I cannot recall a single nagging moment involving writing the past two days… (the cleaning of my room is another story).

Leave a Reply

