College is Overrated.

Well, actually, I shouldn’t say that. I don’t mean that college is overrated, necessarily, but instead that the admission process and every little thought that goes into your application is beyond overrated. In my opinion, you should do what you love and love what you do and if a college loves you for that, then great! Clearly it was meant to be. That being said, if you already know what you want to do in life and think that college is a complete waste of time, then that’s great too! I’m actually pretty jealous!

It frustrates me SO much when people in my grade or the grade below or, this is completely insane, but even sophomores and FRESHMEN say that they’re going to do something but only so it looks good on their college application. Like are you serious. You are a FRESHMAN. Who gives a crap about college when you’re 14?! You should be trying things out, finding your path, not worrying about who is going to judge the paths you’ve experienced in another three years. So that you all know what I’m talking about, I’ll give a couple examples. I cannot count how many times I have heard one of my friends say, “Ugh. I really don’t have the time or energy for [insert AP class here] and I don’t even really like [insert subject here] but I only have 3 APs on my course load for next year and if I want to get into a really good school I should probably take 4.” Now. I am no college counselor or admissions officer or anyone who has any say in anything, really. I’m a student. But I can say with a high level of certainty that I am pretty sure that your grade in a class is a reflection of how interested you are in the material that you’re studying. And I am pretty sure that colleges would rather see an A in an (can I even say this dreaded word) honors class than a D in any AP course. Yes, even BC Calculus.

Not to stress anyone out, but you are going to be spending a solid chunk of your life at the school that you choose to go to. If you get there and hate it, that’s pretty rough because it’s going to be another 4 months before you can get the hell out. So my question to the seniors, and juniors, and sophomores, and even all those freshmen out there is this: do you want to get into a college based on the real you or based on this person that you’ve made up in order to please those admissions officers? Do what you like to do. The college that will accept you will be a much better match than the college that is looking for an arts person to be taking AP Biology. I dance. And I act and I sing and I paint and draw and I also play golf. I absolutely hate running or any type of physical sport. In school, I love English and History and sit in the back doodling during science and math. So I didn’t take a science this year. Big whoop. So far I’m 4 for 5 (the one I got rejected from being Williams) and every one of those 4 schools I’ve been accepted to has accepted me for me. Not for someone trying to play the game.

College is like falling in love. You don’t believe me now, but once you are standing where I’m standing you’ll understand. One day you are going to find that college. It will accept you for who you are and you are going to love every second of it. Yes, I may be saying all of this just for my own sanity, but I really do believe it! We will all find our perfect match. All we have to do is be ourselves.

One thought on “College is Overrated.

  1. After going through the college selection process with my daughter, I think you’re absolutely right. I’m glad you’re looking for a college that you can fall in love with. It’s so important to be excited about being there. Best wishes in finding your college match!

Leave a Reply

